comscore
News

Google rolls out Gmail Confidential Mode with disappearing e-mails; here’s how to use it

The Confidential Mode aims to make your emails more secure.

gmail logo

Google recently gave Gmail the biggest redesign in years, and besides the new look, it also brings a host of new features that aim to make life easier. These features include ‘Snooze Email’ that will notify you about the mail at a later date of your choice, you have the option to unsubscribe to spam emails and tasks also gets a new interface. And yes, the new Gmail also brings ‘Smart Reply’ feature, that suggests three quick options that you can reply with.

However, one of the most interesting features I was excited about was the Confidential Mode. Just like Instagram Stories and Snapchat where you have messages disappearing in 24 hours, Gmail Confidential Mode allows you to send self-destructive emails that will be automatically deleted in the said time. With Confidential Mode, you can ensure that sensitive information doesn’t fall into wrong hands. What’s more, besides auto deleting e-mails, you can also lock them with a passcode. Here’s how Gmail’s new Confidential Mode works.

Watch: Using gesture navigation on Xiaomi Redmi Note 5

How to use Gmail Confidential Mode

Step One

To begin with, tap on “Compose”, and type the recipient’s email ID, subject line, and the body copy of the mail. You can even attach files that you want to send across.

Step Two

Now, you will see a small lock and time icon at the bottom, tap on that.

Step Three

A new pop-up window will open where you can set the expiration date, with available options from one-day to one-week, one-month, three-months, and five-years. If you set one-day, the e-mail will be deleted after 24-hours, if you set one-week, the e-mail will be deleted in seven-days, and so on. Set the date and then click on save.

Step Four

You also get an option to set a passcode. If you don’t set a passcode, the e-mail will be easily accessible to the recipient. However, if you wish to set a passcode, you will have to enter recipient’s phone number. Once that is done, just save, and send the e-mail.

If you have set a passcode, the recipient will receive the email, but will have to verify his / her identity by entering the OTP sent on their mobile phone.

If the OTP matches, the recipient can then view the contents of the email. The core benefit of Gmail Confidential Mode is that the recipient will not be able to copy paste the content, forward the email, print or download the attachment.

However, Google doesn’t have any control over the operating system, and one can easily take a screenshot of what is seen on the screen. We tried it on macOS and on Windows OS, and we were able to take the screenshot, and save it. Google may have to look for a workaround for the same.

  • Published Date: May 11, 2018 5:07 PM IST