comscore
News

Google announces new secure sign-in process to halt phishing attacks

Google just added a new verification process to enable secure sign-in to accounts on Chrome.

  • Published: April 27, 2018 3:44 PM IST

Google has announced that it is adding a new layer of security to all those using accounts powered by its service. The security feature is being primarily offered to those who already rely on Google Chrome for all of their browsing activities.

With the new update announced on its G Suite blog, Google wants to improve the security of your Google account by verifying that you are looking to sign into an account that you control. The move will further restrict anyone from silently signing into your Google account especially a malicious third party seeking control.

This new verification tool will start rolling out to all Google account users from May 7 and Google is currently in the process of integrating third-party logins specifically. As a result, not all Google users will see this new secure login screen. Google also notes that if you access Google’s G Suite applications through your organization on Chrome then the feature will be enabled on May 7.

The feature will work simply by users signing in on a SAML provider’s website from where they will be introduced to a new screen on accounts.google.com to confirm their identity. This screen will provide an additional layer of security and Google says it will “help prevent users from unknowingly signing in to an account created and controlled by an attacker.”

The idea here is to ensure that you proceed with the sign-in only if it is your Google account. If it isn’t yours then you can click on “I don’t recognize this account” to investigate the log-in process. The move won’t have a big impact on normal day to day use case but it has the potential to halt phishing attacks being targeted at your organization, especially those attempting to fool users into quietly signing into a malicious Google account.

WATCH: Oppo F7 Vs Vivo V9 – Specifications and features compared

Google also notes that this screen will only be shown once per account per device. As the time goes on, Google users will see this screen even less as the system becomes context-aware of the feature. The feature will enable consistent identity and admins can disable the screen via their G suite settings option.

  • Published Date: April 27, 2018 3:44 PM IST