Google Chrome temporarily blocks Twitpic.com for malware risk

Google has blocked access to Twitpic.com, a popular photo sharing tool for Twitter, after identifying it as a malware risk. Some users are also complaining that Twitter’s own t.co URL shortener service is also broken at the moment but we are not sure if the two are incidents are linked in any manner.

Interestingly, pics posted via Twitpic appear in the expanded mode on Twitter when viewed on Google Chrome. We should hopefully get an update soon on the situation. It is unlikely for the block to remain for long and in all probability the affected services are working it with Google as we file this post.

UPDATE: Twitpic denies there is anything wrong with its service to invoke the malware notice and is trying to contact Google.

It indeed seems to be a case of Google’s Safe Browsing algorithm hitting a false positive as Google has not found anything to raise the flag over the past 90 days. Here’s what Google’s Safe Browsing diagnostic page has to say about Twitpic.com:

What is the current listing status for twitpic.com?
Site is listed as suspicious – visiting this web site may harm your computer.
What happened when Google visited this site?
Of the 12029 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2012-12-30, and suspicious content was never found on this site within the past 90 days.This site was hosted on 3 network(s) including AS36351 (SOFTLAYER)AS15169 (Google Internet Backbone)AS31815 (MEDIATEMPLE).
Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
Over the past 90 days, twitpic.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.
Has this site hosted malware?
No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
How did this happen?
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.

  • http://twoboysonegirlandacrazymom.com Melanie

    Google flags every twitter account that has a twitpic on their account with the malware notice.. I just went and removed all my pic’s and the notice is off my account.. that’s a for sure way to get followers off your list…..