After its unveiling at WWDC 2017, the ‘Messages in iCloud’ feature can finally be used. The feature is being rolled out for iOS devices with the latest iOS 11.4 software update. This feature lets you sync your messages across all your Apple devices. So if you delete a message from one device, it is removed from all other connected devices too. But there’s a catch.
Currently, deleting a message from your iPhone will only remove it from all connected iOS devices (that are connected to your Apple account). But they will still be visible on your Mac. I have been waiting for this feature since its announcement, because it is a pain to delete a message on your iPhone, and then again manually remove it from the Mac. So imagine my surprise when I couldn’t see the feature despite updating my iPhone.
As GadgetHacks rightly points out, this feature only works on all the latest versions of the operating system. While iOS devices have all been updated to the latest iOS 11.4, Apple has yet to roll out the latest macOS version. Currently, the Macs run macOS High Sierra 10.13.4, and the latest version (10.13.15) is still in beta stage. Until the latest version is rolled out, you won’t be able to use the Messages in iCloud feature.
Watch: Apple iPhone X Review
How to enable Messages in iCloud
In case you don’t have to worry about a Mac, and still want to use this feature on an iOS device, follow these steps. First and foremost, update your device to the latest iOS 11.4.
Next, you will need to enable two-factor authentication (2FA) for your account. Once, enabled you can head over to Settings > Apple ID > iCloud, and then enable the Messages option. Once enabled, your messages will first be uploaded to iCloud (ensure you have enough storage), and then synced across all connected devices.