Twitter adds support for 4 more Indian languages, taking the total to 6

Excited to share that @Twitter is now available in 4 more Indian languages: Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi & Tamil!


Twitter today announced that it is adding support for four more Indian languages. This takes the total Indian languages supported to six, since it added support for Hindi and Bengali last year.

The four new languages now supported on Twitter include Gujarati, Kannada, Marathi and Tamil. The company has updated the website as well as the Android app to support these new languages. To change the language on the web, head over to Settings and select the language from the drop down menu. To change the language on the Android app, one will need to change the default language of their smartphone.

According to a post on Twitter’s official blog, “These four languages were partially translated by a passionate community of Twitter users via the Translation Center — we couldn’t have done it without their help. By supporting Twitter in these languages, we are making our platform for live, public conversations more accessible to Indians all over the country.”

Earlier this year, Twitter introduced the ability to use hashtags in Indic languages. These included Devanagari script based languages like Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, Nepali, as well as Bengali, Assamese, Punjabi, Gujarati, Oriya, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada.

  • Published Date: July 31, 2015 6:57 PM IST