comscore
News

WhatsApp extends time limit to delete messages to 4,096 seconds on Android

WhatsApp will soon give more time to delete messages for everyone on its platform

  • Published: March 4, 2018 11:16 AM IST
whatsapp-stock

WhatsApp recently added an option to delete messages sent to contacts on its social messaging platform. The feature works similar to Gmail’s Undo sent mail feature where WhatsApp users get exactly 420 seconds (or 7 minutes) to delete the message sent across to any of their contacts. The message can be deleted for everyone, which deletes for the sender as well as receiver, or just for the sender.

However, a new beta build of WhatsApp for Android seems to be increasing the time limit. According to WABetaInfo, the beta build of Android with version number 2.18.69 gives users up to 4,096 seconds or (68 minutes and 16 seconds) to delete the message for everyone in the chat. That means Facebook-owned WhatsApp users will have over an hour to delete the messages sent by them. Depending on how well the feature is received by Android users, it will be extended to other platforms such iOS and Windows.

Apart from increasing time limit for the delete message feature, the beta build also brings minor changes including an update to the Stickers feature which gets a modified icon but remains disabled by default. Since the release of beta version 2.18.69, WhatsApp has released two beta builds with version number 2.18.70 and 2.18.71 for those enrolled to the beta program on Android.

These beta builds of WhatsApp bring new features such as locked recording, which locks the voice message record button into place while recording, and sticker pack display size. These features are also disabled by default, meaning they will be made available to the general audience with an upcoming update.

WhatsApp was recently spotted testing a feature that clearly identifies whether a message has been forwarded. The feature called ‘Forwarded Message Label’ shows up on top of the message if has been forwarded from another or the same chat. The feature is likely an attempt to combat the spread of false messages and widespread forward of the same message on the platform. It is again disabled by default like Stickers pack but shows what the messaging company plans to add in the future versions.

  • Published Date: March 4, 2018 11:16 AM IST