comscore
News

WhatsApp's deleted messages can still be read; here's how

WhatsApp allows you to recall or delete a sent message. However, this trick will show you the message even after it has been deleted.

whatsapp-stock

WhatsApp‘s most popular features in recent times is the message recall or ‘Delete for Everyone’ option that allows you to recall a particular message which has been inadvertently sent. Recently, we discovered that there is no time limit to recalling a sent message. Now, it has been found that the ‘delete for everyone’ feature can be easily surpassed. Here’s how you can still view a deleted message without rooting the device, or tampering with the app.

Currently, if you are on the latest version of WhatsApp for Android or iOS, you can delete or recall a message by tapping on the message and choosing the delete option. From here, you can decided to whether delete it for yourself or for everyone. When launched, it was reported that a user could recall or delete a message within 7 minutes of the message being sent. However, in our own tests, we found the limit can be easily surpassed.

When deleted, ‘This message was deleted’ message shows in the chat instead of the particular message. Now, this can be unnerving for some curious minds who want to know what exactly was the message which was deleted. It could even be for law purposes. For this, an app called ‘Notification History’ can help solve the mystery of a deleted message. We tested the process on an Android device and this is how it works. ALSO READ: Flock: A collaboration service that wants to replace WhatsApp for teams

Whatsapp-deleted-message

Ensure you are running the latest version of WhatsApp on your device. Install ‘Notification History’ app from the Play Store and allow the required permissions to be able to read the deleted message. When you receive a message on WhatsApp, the Notification History app will show you a log of all the notification, along with the message. Interestingly, this app does not show a preview but the entire message. So there’s no scope of missing out on the details. If you tap on the log, you will be able to see the message. However, there is a limitation of characters. In our tests, a fairly long message, above 100 characters, was visible. This is in contrast to your device’s own notification settings where only a small portion of the text is shown.

Now, if the message is deleted from the sender’s end, the Notification History app will show you that notification as well, without deleting the previous message. So essentially, you get to know the exact time and content of the message, along with when it was deleted, all in sequential order, without you having to scramble through WhatsApp. ALSO READ: WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ works even after 7-minute limit: Here’s how

It is worth mentioning that this workaround, which was first reported on Spanish website, androidjefe, is possible only on an Android device because, on this platform, WhatsApp only changes the alert’s content whereas, on iOS, it deletes the entire notification.

In addition to this app, you can also access the notification log by long-pressing the home screen, and then tapping on Widgets > Activities > Settings > Notification log. From here you can access the system’s notification log. On stock Android, the Settings widget can give access to the notification log.

  • Published Date: November 15, 2017 8:55 PM IST
  • Updated Date: November 15, 2017 9:44 PM IST