comscore WhatsApp screenshot blocking feature rolling out to beta users
News

WhatsApp screenshot blocking feature rolling out to Android users on beta

A new screenshot sourced from WhatsApp beta shows us this new feature in action, which is essentially seen in a pop-up message

WhatsApp

WhatsApp starts rolling out ability to view status updates within the chat list for some lucky users



Meta CEO, Mark Zuckerberg announced earlier this month that they will be launching three new privacy focused features on WhatsApp. One of these features was the blocking of screenshots on View Once photo. Now, WhatsApp is rolling out this feature to the beta testers on Android. The new feature was almost a necessity for the View Once feature to be actually viewed once. Considering that the feature was announced officially before it was made available to beta testers hints at an early launch. Also Read - WhatsApp, Zoom may soon come under ambit of telecom license

A new screenshot sourced from WhatsApp beta shows us this new feature in action. This particular screenshot was shared by WABetaInfo, the website that tracks the new features in the beta versions of the application. Every time a user will use the ‘View Once’ feature, WhatsApp will show a pop-up mentioning that you can’t forward, copy, save, or take a screenshot of it. As usual, after viewing the picture once, it won’t be available again. Also Read - WhatsApp working on ability to edit messages, could launch soon

While this new WhatsApp feature solves a fundamental issue with the ‘View Once’ feature, it does not mean, the receiver will not be able to capture an image from another device, or even screen record it. Also Read - How to auto-reply to WhatsApp messages on Android

Apart from this feature, the application will also get two more privacy-focussed features.

Leave Groups Silently

Users will be able to exit a group privately without having to notify everyone. Now, instead of notifying the full group when leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature starts to roll out to all users this month.

Choose Who Can See When You’re Online

Seeing when friends or family are online helps users feel connected to one another, but everyone has had times when they wanted to check their WhatsApp privately. For the times you want to keep your online presence private, WhatsApp is introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online. This will start rolling out to all users this month.

  • Published Date: August 18, 2022 6:48 PM IST
For the latest tech news across the world, latest PC and Mobile games, tips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of most exciting releases follow BGR India’s Facebook, Twitter, subscribe our YouTube Channel. Also follow us on  Facebook Messenger for latest updates.