Over the past week, a new app has made it to the top trending list on Android and iOS app stores. Called Sarahah, it is an ‘honesty app’ that lets you send anonymous messages to other users on the network. There is a web version of the app too, and in order to send anonymous messages, you don’t even need to login. That said, you’re likely to see a lot of people posting Sarahah links on Facebook and Twitter to see what others have to say about them.
If posting links wasn’t enough, people have also been sharing links of ‘self-praise’ messages from strangers, and also the bad things that people have been talking about them. While it is good to see that people are taking time out to write honest messages to their friends, there are some pranksters too. And users have been sharing those messages on social media too. ALSO READ: Sarahah app: A social trend with potentially grave impact, but a harmless face
If you’re like me, who is sick and tired of seeing those messages with self-praise and pranks, there is a way to block them. A developer called Anshul Mittal has created an extension for Google Chrome that will hide all those unwanted Sarahah posts from your timeline. The extension is called ‘Enough of Sarahah’, and it is available for free. ALSO READ: Sarahah app elicits candid confessions and love interests, but Twitter has some savage replies
Once the extension is installed, it will remove all the Sarahah links and texts from the web page. I tried it by going through my timeline on Facebook and Twitter without activating the extension, and I could see all those Sarahah links. Even websites and Google search with Sarahah text and links were visible, as you can see below. ALSO READ: Sarahah app: Do we really need an ‘honest’ messaging app?
Next, after activating the extension, all those links and the text with Sarahah were wiped off. As you can see in the above example, all mentions of Sarahah have been removed. In fact, one of our story on Sarahah went completely blank, making the extension work like a charm. Look at the screenshots below.
Sadly, it just works on URLs and text on the web pages. And you will still be able to see the screenshots users have been posting of messages they received from users.