comscore
News

Apple to kill its ‘Back to My Mac’ iCloud feature with macOS Mojave

Apple recommends users to use its “Apple Remote Desktop” app along with existing iCloud Drive to perform the duties that “Back to My Mac” performed.

  • Published: August 24, 2018 9:40 AM IST
apple macos mojave feat

Details have emerged stating that Apple will remove its “Back to My Mac” feature with its upcoming macOS version, the macOS Mojave. Back to My Mac is an iCloud feature that lets users connect with other Macs without the need of having physical access to the machine. The company is recommending Mac owners to instead use its “Apple Remote Desktop” app along with existing iCloud Drive to perform the duties that Back to My Mac performed.

According to the description of the feature, macOS users could use this feature to share files and screens between their remote and local Macs. According to 9to5Mac, the feature was not present in the developer or the public betas for the macOS Mojave, and Apple has added details about moving away from the feature in one of its support documents. The report pointed out that a Twitter user by the name Brian Stucki is now alerting users who are using the feature on their macOS.

Watch: Apple iOS 12 features

One thing to note here is that the company is recommending Apple Remote Desktop app, which is priced at $79.99, and has not been updated in more than 1.5 years. The last time this app was updated was back in February 2017.

The report also pointed out that in addition to removing the Back to My Mac feature, macOS Mojave will also be the last operating system version for the macOS to support 32-bit apps. This means that macOS versions after Mojave will demand 64-bit apps.

  • Published Date: August 24, 2018 9:40 AM IST