At the WWDC 2016 developer conference, Apple took the wraps off iOS 10. Apple s upcoming mobile OS brings in a host of changes, new features and performance improvements. One of the interesting things about iOS 10 is that it will let users remove the default apps that they don t use. While Apple did not mention anything about this at the keynote, the piece of information is available on its support page. But do you know what really happens when you remove the default apps? Read on to know more. Also Read - Flipkart Big Saving Days sale begins for Plus members: Check out top deals on smartphonesAlso Read - iPhone 11 selling with more than Rs 8,000 discount in India, but for a limited period
Technically, removing pre-installed apps should let users save some space on their iOS device. However, removing the default apps doesn t delete them, as it should. At The Talk Show Live hosted by John Gruber, a noted Apple blogger, Apple s senior VP of software engineering, Craig Federighi confirmed the same (via TechCrunch). Also Read - Apple App store removes this popular dating app for spreading misinformation
Federighi and his colleague Phil Schiller explained that uninstalling default apps will remove them from the home screen along with user data. However, as the default apps are baked right into the iOS, the app binaries are still present. For security signing reasons, the apps are a part of the binary and that also explains why new features only come as a part of iOS update. This also means that the default apps won t get frequent updates as we were expecting, but they will be individually available on the App Store to install them back.
All the 26 pre-installed apps including mail, calendar, compass, maps, FaceTime, iBooks, podcasts and more are now available on the App Store as standalone apps. Apple says that you’d be able to save just about 150MB of storage space when you “delete” these apps. Also, while the option to remove default apps is currently available to developers with iOS 10 beta, it will be available to all users when iOS 10 update rollouts, later this year.