In what is probably the creepiest move yet from Google to force its Google+ network on users, existing Google+ users will be able to send emails to people they follow on the graveyard-like social network. Google has announced a ¨feature¨ it is rolling out on Gmail that will let people who use both Google+ and Gmail to receive mails from people who have them in their circles. Users will also see their Google+ contacts getting merged with their Gmail contacts so that when they enter names in the ‘to’ field, they will automatically see names from Google+ as well. Also Read - Google Play Store announces blanket ban on Sugar Daddy apps over sexual content
The feature will be rolled out in the coming days and Google will notify users about new settings that will let them either opt out of it completely or only receive mails from people in their circles. The user’s email address would remain hidden from strangers and will be revealed only when they decide to reply to the mails. Also, only mails from those people who are in the users’ circle will appear in the primary tab while others will go to the social updates tab in Gmail. Also Read - Google, Facebook make vaccination mandatory for employees returning to office
While Google is trying its best to give control to users, this is nonetheless creepy enough to drive me to delete my Google+ account. Firstly, a feature that gives access to my mailbox to strangers has to be an opt-in feature rather than an opt-out one. If Google really wants to portray it as a feature users want rather than shoving it down people’s inboxes, it should have rolled it as a new feature asking people to opt-in for it. Also Read - Fake Battlegrounds Mobile India (BGMI) Lite APK links going viral on the internet: How to spot them
Secondly, the addition of contacts from one’s Google+ accounts is unwarranted for – it will only increase the time one takes to add recipients in mail thanks to all the names that get added.