comscore How to undo a sent email in Gmail
News

How to undo a sent email in Gmail

gmail-stock-photo


Did you just hit send and forgot to add something in an important mail? Or did you forget to attach a document to the mail? Or even worse, did you just send the wrong email to your boss? Often we come across situation where we remember to add something in mail once it is sent. But now, if you are using Gmail, you can undo the send action and ensure the correct mail is sent across. Also Read - Google launches a redesigned Gmail Settings page on iOS

Also Read - How to use Gmail without an internet connection: A step-by-step guide

Meet Gmail s Undo feature, which was finally launched yesterday after being in the beta labs for six years. This life saving feature by Google gives you up to 30 seconds to undo your sent email. The option, however, is disabled by default. Here’s how you can enable and use it. Also Read - How to backup emails from Gmail: A step-by-step guide

Step 1: Click the gear icon in the top-right corner of your Gmail window and select Settings from the drop down menu.

Andu-in-gmail-1

Step 2: Select Labs from the top row tab.

labs

Step 3: Scroll to the bottom where you see Undo Send option and click Enable. You can select between 10, 20 or 30 seconds. The default is 10 seconds.

Andu-in-gmail

Step 4: Scroll down and hit Save Changes option.

After you have made the necessary changes, the yellow dialogue box that displays “Your message has been sent” will also give you the option to undo after you have sent a mail. Click it, and the email will reopen.

  • Published Date: June 24, 2015 2:47 PM IST
  • Updated Date: June 24, 2015 5:57 PM IST
For the latest tech news across the world, latest PC and Mobile games, tips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of most exciting releases follow BGR India’s Facebook, Twitter, subscribe our YouTube Channel. Also follow us on  Facebook Messenger for latest updates.