comscore Instagram introduces 'green dot' feature to see who's online available to chat
News

Instagram introduces 'green dot' feature to see who's online available to chat

You'll see this green dot next to friends profile picture in various spaces on Instagram app.

  • Published: July 20, 2018 12:43 PM IST
Instagram-Green-Status-Dot-official

Instagram has announced a new green dot status feature for you to easily connect with friends by displaying if you’re currently available online to chat. Also Read - Facebook to now allow more cryptocurrency ads than before; here's why

Also Read - WhatsApp users on iPhone will soon able to Undo Status, suggests report

On its blog post, Instagram said that when your friends are active on Instagram, you ll see a green dot next to their profile picture in various spaces within the app, including their posts from feed. Earlier the feature was only working in Direct inbox, where it showed green dot for active users, and time stamp (like Active 18m ago ) for users who were currently active. Also Read - Facebook, Instagram have taken down over 18 million posts in India in October: Here's why

But there’s a catch, the green dot will only be visible next to those friends who follow you or people who you have talked to in Direct inbox.

Instagram is also giving you the ability to hide/ turn off your online status, so you need not to worry. To disable the feature, you’ll need to visit Activity Status in app s Settings menu, where it s set to on by default. You can turn off the toggle there and it’ll not show your online status to anyone.

“This update gives you the ability to have more of those realtime conversations while giving you the control to hide your status altogether,” noted Instagram blog.

Watch Video: How to install Android P Beta on select smartphones

Recently, there was another report on Instagram’s upcoming feature where the app will allow its users to easily remove their followers. This new feature will reportedly work for users with public accounts only. The feature seems to be an attempt to give users more control over their follower list so that they can remove users who they don t want as followers without blocking them. Although, practically there is no way to stop anyone from seeing your photos unless you change the account type to Private.

For the latest tech news across the world, latest PC and Mobile games, tips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of most exciting releases follow BGR India’s Facebook, Twitter, subscribe our YouTube Channel. Also follow us on  Facebook Messenger for latest updates.
  • Published Date: July 20, 2018 12:43 PM IST



new arrivals in india

Best Sellers