Instagram seems to be working on a new feature that will allow its users to easily remove their followers. This new feature will only work for users with public accounts though there is no practical way to stop anyone from seeing your photos unless you change the account type to Private. However, this feature is an attempt to give users more control over their follower list so that they can remove users who they don t want as followers. This allows them to remove users from their list without the need of blocking. Also Read - Facebook Messenger merged with Instagram DMs: All you need to knowAlso Read - WhatsApp Web: How to read messages without actually opening the chat
According to a report by The Verge, as part of this feature, the platform now gives users the ability to manually remove the followers of their accounts with the help of a few taps. This feature was already present for users with a private account so that they can stop anyone from accessing their photos. The report pointed out that the company had been testing this new feature since over the last few months and now it is rolling out to a bigger sample of users on Android. Instagram confirmed that it has been testing this new feature for its users but did not reveal any details about then the feature will rollout of all the users on the platform. Also Read - OnePlus 8T Pro will not launch this year, confirms OnePlus founder and CEO
Watch: Moto E5 Series First Look
The report pointed out that Instagram will not send any notification to the users who have been removed off follower lists by their friends. This is supposed to be a less aggressive and non-confrontational way to cut ties without that former friend.
This comes right after it was reported that Instagram is working on introducing a new two-factor authentication system that does not rely on SMS messages to prevent attacks that depend on hacking the SIM of a user to beat the security measure.