Unlimited cloud storage is a great feature that came with the new Google Photos app. But what is surprising is that Google does not stop backing up your media content on its cloud service even after uninstalling the app. David Arnott, the editor at the Nashville Business Journal, recently found out that Google continues to back up photos in its cloud storage even after you uninstall Google Photos. Also Read - 15GB free Google storage over? Disable Google Photos backup setting now, here's how
When you install Google Photos into your app, you will be asked if you want to back up your photos and videos to Google’s cloud storage, inevitably letting Google access all your photos and videos. However, your Android smartphone will continue to store your photos and videos to the cloud even after you uninstall Google Photos. Also Read - Google Photos free storage ends but you can pay to get more storage: Check paid plans list
This is because the company’s Auto Backup feature is independent of Google Photos app. This backup feature is found buried somewhere in the settings menu, and only after you disable it, will the back up of photos be stopped. Also Read - Top 5 Google Photos alternatives to store your favorite photos
While installing Google Photos, you have to activate the Auto Backup feature in order to use Google Photos cool unlimited cloud storage. But to deactivate it, just uninstalling the app is not enough. To disable auto backup completely, head to Settings > Google Photo Backup. Here you can turn things on or off, as well as set the upload size, account to use and give permission to backup when you’re not on Wi-Fi.
In order to stop backing up your media, make sure you disable the backup feature in the Settings app after you uninstall it. Google should repair this little data-eating mishap by following the same permission pattern as it does when a user installs the new standalone Google Photos app.