Popular microblogging platform Twitter has announced that its ‘Twitter Lite’ app is now available in 21 more countries, including Argentina, Belarus, Dominican Republic, Ghana, India, Romania, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe. With the expansion, ‘Twitter Lite’ can now be used by users in more than 45 countries around the world.
The company announced the expanded availability of ‘Twitter Lite’ through a tweet.
Don't let data worries keep you from Twitter. Twitter Lite is now in 21 more countries.
Stay informed with push notifications. Save data and space on your device. Turn on night mode. Bookmark Tweets to read later.
Download in the Google Play Store. 👇https://t.co/vt2K81Cnf3
— Twitter (@Twitter) August 13, 2018
It’s worth mentioning that ‘Twitter Lite’ was originally launched in April last year. As its name suggests, the app is a trimmed-down version of the original Twitter app. Measuring just around 3MB, ‘Twitter Lite’ is essentially a wrapper for Twitter’s mobile web experience.
Some of the features of ‘Twitter Lite’ include Data Saver, which lets users control which images and videos in their Twitter feed load up on their smartphone. Because of its small size, ‘Twitter Lite’ loads up content quickly even on 2G and 3G networks. Then there’s Bookmarks, which allows users to save important tweets they can view later when better network connectivity is available. Other features include push notifications, night mode, and threaded tweets.
Watch: Xiaomi Mi A2 First Look
Twitter recently announced that it was no longer possible to cross-post tweets to Facebook, primarily because of a recent update by the latter. The feature was popular for users, since it allowed them to automatically post their tweets as status updates on their Facebook timeline.
While the option to connect a Facebook account for tweet sharing is still visible on Twitter, it’s possible it’ll go away soon considering it’s now redundant. The issue has affected not just Twitter, but various other apps that also automatically post to Facebook, even with the permission of the user through a single perpetual login.