Twitter’s ongoing battle to combat trolls continues. The company has just added a new feature that will help fellow users help each other against common miscreants. The new tool enables users to share their ‘block lists’ with each other and block multiple accounts quickly. Also Read - Explained: Can Twitter get banned in India?Also Read - Twitter vs government: Twitter India loses legal protection for not complying with IT rules on time
What this means is Twitter now allows you to block a group of people at once, through the block lists sharing feature. A user can share his block list with others, and they can all at once block the entire list too. Previously, in order to block an account, you had to individually add the offender to your own list one by one. Also Read - Twitter friends/followers seeking your unwanted attention could be Unmentioned
Head over to the ‘Blocked Accounts’ tab in your settings menu, and you will find an advanced option, which allows you to export your entire block list. The list will be saved on to your computer in .csv file format, which can then be shared with others.
The rise in reports of abuse and trolls has been a serious issue on Twitter for quite a while. Even Bollywood superstars like Salman Khan andRishi Kapoor have expressed their grief over abusive tweets.
Twitter has been releasing various tools, and this block lists sharing feature is another step towards making the experience on Twitter better. It is a gradual global roll out, so it might be a while before it reflects on your screen.
Back in December last year, Twitter made it easier for users to report harassment. In February this year, it made it easy for users to report behaviors like impersonation, self-harm and the sharing of private or confidential information.