WhatsApp has a pool of features it is expected to get soon for the sake of making things smooth for people. The latest addition in the “pool of expected features” is the one that involves several improvements for WhatsApp calls. Also Read - WhatsApp now lets you scan UPI QR code and pay at the Kirana store
This includes a new changed calling UI for easy accessibility and the ability to join calls with much ease. How this will work? Let’s take a look at this. Also Read - WhatsApp to let admins manage Communities better with home
WhatsApp to launch new changes for calls
As suggested by WaBetaInfo (which is a reliable source for all things WhatsApp), the popular messaging app is testing the new Tap to Join feature for group calls. This will allow people to become a part of ongoing group calls with ease, which isn’t available right now. Also Read - WhatsApp to introduce new safety feature for Desktop, Web version
Here’s how it will work: If you get an invite to a group video or audio call and you miss it, you will no longer manually have to get access to the call. With this feature, you will see the new ‘Tap to Join’ banner in the Call section of the app, which will let you join a call (provided it’s still on) without asking others to add you.
While this isn’t a major feature, it will keep people away from the hassle of starting a call or waiting for an invite to finally have a gossip session with their friends.
Then there will new calling UI, which will resemble the FaceTime UI. The idea is to make various options (loudspeaker, mute and more) easily accessible. The new UI also introduces a new Ring option and a changed location of the End Call option.
The new feature is now a part of the WhatsApp for iOS beta version 18.104.22.168 and is soon expected to reach the Android beta users. However, it remains to be seen when it will arrive for the general audience.
In related news, WhatsApp for iOS is also beta testing a Snapchat-inspired camera feature that will allow people to send disappearing photos and videos that can be viewed once when the option is enabled, of course.