Incognito mode on Google Chrome can be useful for many reasons, some more sketchy than others. But whatever be your reasons for using it, incognito mode helps keep your usage out of your search and browsing history, making it appear (on the face of it) as if you never used it. Of course, usage history can still be seen by your internet service provider, employer and in some cases, the Government too. And as Google hilariously points out, people behind you can still see what you’re doing even if you’re on incognito mode.
Google is now rolling out incognito mode to another one of its key services – YouTube. The video streaming service isn’t quite as filled with things to look at as a web browser would be, and YouTube itself does a good job of keeping the content on the platform clean and ‘safe for work’ as many would call it.
Incognito mode on YouTube is exactly like it is on Chrome; it keeps whatever you view and search for out of your regular history. As expected, that usage can still be seen by anyone tracking it on the network.
The new incognito mode is widely rolling out on YouTube for Android, and is useful to keep whatever you search for out of your search and watch history. While watch and search history is unlikely to be as ‘controversial’ as on Google Chrome, it might come in handy for a lot of people that have multiple accounts, or simply don’t want their specific searches seen by others.
YouTube’s search and discovery engine obviously won’t factor in any of the videos you’ve watched while on incognito mode. Maybe you don’t want people to know about your taste in Bollywood or death metal music…
WATCH: Asus Zenfone 5Z First Look
To use it, you need to first make sure your YouTube app is updated to the latest version. Once this is done, you can open up the YouTube app on your Android smartphone, and tap on your account image in the top right corner to take you to your account settings. Here, you’ll see an option called ‘turn on incognito’ which will activate the feature.
You can follow the same steps to switch off incognito mode when you’re done. When you’re in incognito mode, you can only access the home and trending sections on the app, apart from searches. Subscriptions, inbox and library are disabled when the mode is switched on.