comscore HP Omen 15 2020 Review: Impressive device with a surprise | BGR India
Review

HP Omen 15 2020 Review: An impressive device with a surprise

How does the latest offering from HP stack up against the options from Asus, Dell, Lenovo, Xiaomi, and more? Find answers to all your doubts and questions regarding the device in our HP Omen 15 2020 review here.

HP Omen 15 2020 Review (1)

HP Omen 15 2020 4 5
BGR Rating :
4/5

Technology giant HP recently launched the latest iteration of its in-house gaming and high-performance focused brand, Omen. The company launched new models of gaming laptops from its Omen and Pavilion lineups as per the announcement. As noted previously, the company provides ample options to its users in terms of the processor, and different configurations. It is worth noting that HP initially launched both the lineups back in June on the global stage. These new models come with a number of important changes and firsts for HP. First up, the HP Omen 15 features a new, redesigned chassis along with a new Omen logo. Beyond this, Pavilion 16 is the first HP-branded gaming laptop with a 16-inch screen. Also Read - HP Omen 15 with Ryzen 7, Pavillion Gaming 16 laptop and accessories launched in India

HP also provides the option to choose between the latest Intel and AMD processors. This choice is significant considering all the good things that we have heard about the latest AMD Ryzen 4000 series. Talking about the latest HP Omen 15, the company claims that it is the “smallest 15-inch gaming laptop” out there. For some context, this is the third generation of the Omen series laptops after the inaugural one back in 2018. Also Read - HP OMEN X 2S dual-screen gaming laptop launched in India: Price, Specifications

Watch: HP Omen 15 2020 Review

Days before the launch, we got to test drive the HP Omen 15 2020 laptop. Considering HP is one of the many gaming laptop makers in the market, you may be confused about your choice. How does the latest offering from HP stack up against the options from Asus, Dell, Lenovo, Xiaomi, and more? Find answers to all your doubts and questions regarding the device in our HP Omen 15 2020 review here. Also Read - HP OMEN X 2S with dual-screen and 9th gen Intel processor launched: Price, Features

HP Omen 15 2020 specifications, variants and pricing

Before we get started, let’s talk about the specifications, hardware options, and the pricing of the HP Omen 15 2020. The laptop features a 15.6-inch display with a hinge that can lay flat with a 180-degree articulation. Buyers get the option to select between the AMOLED panel with 4K UDH resolution and an IPS panel. The IPS panel comes with FHD resolution and up to 300Hz refresh rate. HP provides the option to select up to 10th generation Intel i7 H-series processors with 6-cores. In addition, we can also opt for up to AMD Ryzen 7 H-series processors to power the machine.

HP Omen 15 2020 Review

Moving to the GPU, we get the option to select up to Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super along with Max-Q design. The company claims that it comes with “OMEN Tempest Cooling technology” with an “IR thermopile sensor” and large vents. HP Omen 15 is “the first gaming laptop to apply an IR thermopile sensor”. Moving to the storage, HP offers up to 1TB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD with up to 32GB DDR4 RAM. Other features include a dedicated SD card reader, 720p webcam, trackpad, 4-key zone RBG backlit keyboard with the full-size layout.

Omen 15 also sports Wi-Fi 6, with up to 70.9Wh battery. Focusing on the ports, we get a USB Type-C port with USB 3.1 gen 1 protocol support, a Mini Display port, three USB Type-A ports with 3.1 protocol support, an HDMI port, a 3.5mm audio jack, an RJ 45 port, and SD card reader slot. The company is offering the device in two color options including Mica Silver and Shadow Black. Omen 15 with Intel ships starts at Rs 79,999 while the AMD version is priced at Rs 75,999. Interested buyers can make the purchase on the HP store on the HP India website.

Functional, minimal design on Omen 15

The company claims that the HP Omen 15 2020 features a “minimalist design” with a focus on content immersion. HP also claims that the device provides a “low-profile luxury style” along with an “aluminum-finished palm rest”. Moving outside the realm of claims, the Omen 15 2020 features a cleaner, somewhat muted design. As noted above, the device features a redesigned chassis along with the new HP Omen “diamond” logo on the top. Looking at the display, we get a “3-sided micro-edge display” to offer thin bezels for a modern look.

The plain look on the top and around the keyboard area makes the device ideal for a professional setting. We also get aluminum finish around the keyboard and the bottom of the chassis to offer a rigid, high-quality build. The company has also added an air intake grill on to the top of the keyboard near the hinge area. Yes, this grill is not a speaker grill. Beyond this, we also get a laser-etched “015” on the right side of the palm rest along with the text “Designed and Engineered by HP”.

We have already talked about the plethora of ports on both sides of the port. In addition, HP has also added vents on the right, left, and backside of the Omen 15. We can also see plenty of air vents at the bottom of the laptop for airflow. The device weighs about 2.36kg making things slightly heavy. Omen 15 keyboard features per-key back-lighting along with four different lighting areas.

HP Omen 15 2020 Review

It is also worth noting that the track-pad is shifted to the left side instead of a center alignment of the device. The hinge doesn’t feel particularly tight as the screen wobbles with air from fan or movement. Overall, Omen 15 does not feature a flashy all-out gamer aesthetic. Instead, it comes with a low-key, mean look.

Performance of HP Omen 15 2020

Our HP Omen 15 2020 review unit features the model number “ek0019tx”. It sports 10th generation Intel Core i7-10750H processor with 6 cores, 2.6GHz base clock, and up to 5GHz boost clock. HP has also added 16GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB PCIe NVMe M.2 SSD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650Ti GPU with 4GB GDDR6 video memory. It runs on a 52.5Wh battery and uses a 150W AC power adapter.

HP Omen 15 2020 Review

For the display, we get an IPS panel with FHD resolution, 144Hz refresh rate, and 300 nits brightness. Beyond this, the rest of the specifications are identical to what we have seen above. HP has priced this model at Rs 1,20,999 pushing it into a serious spending territory. In short, the device performed admirably without any issues. The highlight of this section is likely the redesigned chassis which managed to comfortably cool down the CPU and GPU. Now, let’s look at the details.

Daily use

Omen 15 Desktop

We did not face any issue while performing our regular, day-to-day tasks. The work includes an exhaustive amount of web-browsing, light photo editing, music, writing, watching videos on YouTube, and some Netflix. There was no stutter, lag, or freezing in all the above-mentioned tasks. The laptop easily handled the 22-25 tabs at any given time with image edition on Adobe Lightroom Classic, Photoshop, and video encoding.

Gaming

Now, let’s talk about the core of the laptop, how it performs while gaming. As part of the review, we tested Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Far Cry New Dawn, and GTA V. We did not change the system settings regarding the performance during testing to ensure out-of-the-box experience. Users can use the “OMEN Command Center” to toggle the system fan speed in the “Thermal Control” section. One can find this in the “Performance Control” tab after clicking on the “OMEN 15” item on the app sidebar. Here, the system is set to “AUTO” by default.

Omen 15 Far Cry New Dawn

Omen 15 Far Cry New Dawn

Omen 15 2020 offers decent performance for anyone looking to play AAA titles on their machine. The best part is the impressive amount of thermal head-room due to the redesigned laptop chassis. The temperatures did reach up to 90-degrees Celsius but quickly went back to around 70 to 85-degrees Celsius. Obviously, the average temperatures fluctuated depending on the game and the graphics quality. Regardless, the CPU did not thermal throttle during long gaming sessions.

Omen 15 HWiNFO64 v6.28 Temperatures

In addition, the laptop did not get toasty or even moderately hot around the keyboard or palm rest area. The fans did get loud while gaming so it is advisable to use a good pair of earphones or headphones to drown out the noise.

Numbers about frames while gaming

Talking about the frame rates, we got about 56-60 frames at High graphics quality in Far Cry New Dawn. GTA V offers anywhere between 90 to 115 frames depending on the scene at Normal quality. Moving to Shadow of the Tomb Raider, we got an average of 56fps at High graphics settings. We got anywhere from 80 to 144fps in Wolfenstein II: The New Colossus at Low graphics. Moving to synthetic benchmarks, we got 1230 in single-core benchmark and 6311 on multi-core benchmark on Geekbench 5.

HP Omen 15 2020 also scored 45,692 on the OpenCL benchmark on Geekbench, 2820 on Cinebench R20, and 1,298 on the Cinebench R15 CPU test. PCMark 10 benchmark resulted in a 4813 score, 26,986 in Sky Diver test, and 9,078 in Fire Strike test in 3DMark. Overall, the device performed well throughout regardless of the situation.

Display, speakers, and webcam

HP Omen 15 2020 Review

The laptop sports a decent display but it is nothing great for content creation. 144Hz IPS panel is aimed at gamers and if you want to do color accurate work then you should look at the 4K option. In addition, the 300nits peak brightness is fine for indoors but not enough for outdoors, under direct sunlight work. Moving to the speakers, the audio quality is fine but we would suggest a good pair of wired earphones or headphones for gaming. This is because the audio can easily get lost in a noisy environment. Last but not the least, the webcam is terrible, especially in less than ideal conditions. So, it is better if you use your smartphone to make video calls in the new normal.

Keyboard, trackpad, and software experience on Omen 15

Unlike most laptops in the market, HP opted for a full-sized keyboard layout along with the number pad area. This means that the size of the keys is relatively smaller than other laptops in the same segment. During daily usage, it took some time to get used to the layout on a laptop form factor but the experience is decent. The keys come with 1.5mm travel offering comfortable typing experience. One can also control the 4-zone RGB using the “OMEN Command Center”. It is worth noting that the software only offers static options without any dynamic effects.

Beyond the keyboard, the trackpad comes with support for Windows precision drivers with decent size. OMEN Command Center, the preloaded app comes with a new “Coaching” feature for gamers. Currently, this feature is only available for “League of Legends” but we hope to see it in other games. In addition, HP has also added the “Remote Play” feature through the “OMEN Command Center” app on Google Play Store and Apple App Store. Beyond this, we also get the ability to switch graphics in the app along with a network booster option.

Omen Command Center

Battery backup

Omen 15 2020 offers a borderline fine battery backup which is in line with other gaming laptops. Regular non-gaming related light work offered us about 4 hours of backup at 75 percent brightness. However, gaming pushed down the backup to just 1.5 hours and lower depending on the games. Charging the device from 0 to 100 took about 1.5 hours. The 150W AC adapter is thankfully somewhat compact and portable.

Verdict: Should you buy the HP Omen 15 2020

HP Omen 15 2020 Review

HP Omen 15 2020 is a surprisingly impressive device with highlights in the cooling department and the overall performance. The device lineup offers options between AMD and Intel which is commendable. In addition, the low-key design and functional approach result in a good package. However, for the price of Rs 1,20,999, we hoped for a better GPU than the included Nvidia GeForce GTX 1650Ti in our unit. If you are looking for gaming then we would suggest you look at other variants in the HP Omen 15 2020 lineup. However, if you are limited by budget then look at the rivals from Asus and Dell before opting for this model.

For the latest tech news across the world, latest PC and Mobile games, tips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of most exciting releases follow BGR India’s Facebook, Twitter, subscribe our YouTube Channel. Also follow us on  Facebook Messenger for latest updates.
  • Published Date: July 30, 2020 8:15 PM IST



new arrivals in india

Realme 8i
Realme 8i

13,999

Realme 8s 5G
Realme 8s 5G

17,999

Xiaomi Redmi 10 Prime
Xiaomi Redmi 10 Prime

12,499

Samsung Galaxy A52s 5G
Samsung Galaxy A52s 5G

35,999

Samsung Galaxy M32 5G
Samsung Galaxy M32 5G

20,999

Vivo Y33s
Vivo Y33s

17,990

Realme C21Y
Realme C21Y

8,999

Vivo Y21
Vivo Y21

15,490

Realme GT Master Edition
Realme GT Master Edition

25,999

Realme GT 5G
Realme GT 5G

37,999

Itel A48
Itel A48

6,399

Motorola Edge 20
Motorola Edge 20

29,999

Motorola Edge 20 Fusion
Motorola Edge 20 Fusion

21,499

Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3
Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 3

84,999

Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold 3

1,49,999

Samsung Galaxy A12 (Exynos)
Samsung Galaxy A12 (Exynos)

13,999

Nokia C20 Plus
Nokia C20 Plus

8,999

Vivo Y53s
Vivo Y53s

19,490

Tecno Pova 2
Tecno Pova 2

10,999

Infinix Smart 5A
Infinix Smart 5A

6,499

Micromax In 2b
Micromax In 2b

8,999

Vivo Y72 5G
Vivo Y72 5G

20,990

Tecno Camon 17
Tecno Camon 17

12,999

Tecno Camon 17 Pro
Tecno Camon 17 Pro

16,999

Realme C11 2021
Realme C11 2021

6,999

Oppo Reno6 Pro 5G
Oppo Reno6 Pro 5G

39,990

Oppo Reno6 5G
Oppo Reno6 5G

29,990

Samsung Galaxy M21 2021
Samsung Galaxy M21 2021

12,499

OnePlus Nord 2
OnePlus Nord 2

27,999

Poco F3 GT
Poco F3 GT

27,999

Samsung Galaxy A22 5G
Samsung Galaxy A22 5G

19,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10T 5G
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10T 5G

13,999

Samsung Galaxy F22
Samsung Galaxy F22

12,499

Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite
Xiaomi Mi 11 Lite

21,999

Infinix Note 10 Pro
Infinix Note 10 Pro

16,999

Infinix Note 10
Infinix Note 10

10,999

Vivo Y73
Vivo Y73

20,990

OnePlus Nord CE 5G
OnePlus Nord CE 5G

22,999

iQOO Z3
iQOO Z3

19,990

Realme C25s
Realme C25s

9,999

Poco M3 Pro 5G
Poco M3 Pro 5G

13,999

Realme X7 Max 5G
Realme X7 Max 5G

26,999

Oppo F19
Oppo F19

18,990

Motorola Moto G40 Fusion
Motorola Moto G40 Fusion

13,999

POCO M2 Reloaded
POCO M2 Reloaded

9,499

OPPO A74 5G
OPPO A74 5G

17,990

Oppo A53s 5G
Oppo A53s 5G

14,990

Vivo V21 5G
Vivo V21 5G

29,990

Realme C25
Realme C25

9,499

Realme C21
Realme C21

7,999

Realme C20
Realme C20

6,799

Motorola Moto G60
Motorola Moto G60

17,999

iQOO 7
iQOO 7

31,990

Samsung Galaxy M42 5G
Samsung Galaxy M42 5G

21,999

Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra
Xiaomi Mi 11 Ultra

69,999

Xiaomi Mi 11X Pro 5G
Xiaomi Mi 11X Pro 5G

39,999

Xiaomi Mi 11X
Xiaomi Mi 11X

29,999

Realme 8 5G
Realme 8 5G

13,999

Samsung Galaxy F02s
Samsung Galaxy F02s

8,999

Samsung Galaxy F12
Samsung Galaxy F12

10,999

POCO X3 Pro
POCO X3 Pro

18,999

Realme 8 Pro
Realme 8 Pro

17,999

Realme 8
Realme 8

14,999

Vivo X60 Pro Plus
Vivo X60 Pro Plus

69,990

Vivo X60 Pro
Vivo X60 Pro

49,990

Vivo X60
Vivo X60

37,990

OnePlus 9 Pro 5G
OnePlus 9 Pro 5G

64,999

OnePlus 9R 5G
OnePlus 9R 5G

39,999

OnePlus 9 5G
OnePlus 9 5G

49,999

Samsung Galaxy A72
Samsung Galaxy A72

34,999

Samsung Galaxy A52
Samsung Galaxy A52

26,499

Micromax In 1
Micromax In 1

10,499

Asus ROG Phone 5
Asus ROG Phone 5

49,999

Samsung Galaxy M12
Samsung Galaxy M12

10,999

Motorola Moto G30
Motorola Moto G30

10,999

Motorola Moto G10 Power
Motorola Moto G10 Power

9,999

Oppo F19 Pro Plus 5G
Oppo F19 Pro Plus 5G

25,990

Oppo F19 Pro
Oppo F19 Pro

21,490

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro Max
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro Max

18,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro

15,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10

11,999

Realme Narzo 30A
Realme Narzo 30A

8,999

Realme Narzo 30 Pro
Realme Narzo 30 Pro

16,999

Infinix Smart 5
Infinix Smart 5

7,199

Samsung Galaxy F62
Samsung Galaxy F62

23,999

Samsung Galaxy A12
Samsung Galaxy A12

12,999

Nokia 5.4
Nokia 5.4

13,999

Nokia 3.4
Nokia 3.4

11,999

Realme X7 Pro 5G
Realme X7 Pro 5G

29,999

Realme X7
Realme X7

19,999

Vivo Y31
Vivo Y31

16,490

Oppo Reno5 Pro 5G
Oppo Reno5 Pro 5G

35,990

Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G

1,05,999

Samsung Galaxy S21 Plus 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 Plus 5G

81,999

Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 5G

69,999

Vivo Y12s
Vivo Y12s

9,990

Vivo Y51A
Vivo Y51A

17,990

Samsung Galaxy M02s
Samsung Galaxy M02s

8,999

Xiaomi Mi 10i
Xiaomi Mi 10i

21,999

Oppo A15s
Oppo A15s

11,490

Best Sellers