comscore Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 10th Gen Intel i5 Quad-Core review: Price in India, Features, Specs
Review

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go review: Good for writers at an affordable price with few improvement areas

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go review: The latest Microsoft Surface Laptop Go looks sleek with a stunning display and powerful performance. Is it worth buying?

microsoft-surface-laptop-go

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go 4 5
BGR Rating :
4/5

Coronavirus has changed the way we work. The pandemic moved all of us from office premises to homes and this led to an increased dependency on laptops. Most working professionals will agree with me that, especially in the last year, laptops have become an integral part of our lives, whether to work from home or to connect with loved ones around the world via video calls. Manufacturers took this as an opportunity and entered the laptop category, Xiaomi for instance launched its first laptop in India last year and now the rival brand Realme is also expected to launch laptops soon. Also Read - Have a Dell laptop? Install this patch immediately before hackers attack your device

The pandemic also changed the way we purchase laptops. People have started looking for laptops that are more compact and can be carried anywhere and everywhere they travel. Of course, power is also a crucial aspect to consider before one purchases a laptop these days given how important gaming has become in recent times. Microsoft Surface Laptop Go, in my opinion, serves most purposes. It does lag in some areas though. Also Read - Xbox Game Pass to add FIFA 21, Red Dead Online in May: Details here

Before getting into how my experience has been using the Surface laptop for the first time, I must mention that the consumer SKUs with i5/8/128GB configuration is priced at Rs 71,999 while the top-end model with i5/8/256GB comes at a price of Rs 91,999. The commercial SKUs with i5/4/64GB configuration starts at Rs 63,499 in India. My review unit comes with i5/8/256GB configuration. Let’s now deep dive into how the latest Microsoft Surface laptop works and whether it is a good buy for the price it costs? Also Read - Microsoft decides to end Adobe Flash support for Windows 10 in July 2021

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go specifications

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go: What’s good?

I am using the Microsoft Surface Laptop Go, developed mainly for students and working professionals – as the company claims, for the last two – three weeks as my work device. I used the laptop for nearly 10 hours every single work day for several product briefings via video calls, writing almost 2000 – 3000 words every single day, photo editing, and so on. Video calls turned out to be pretty decent, however, the picture quality, I believe, could have been slightly better. For writers, this is a good one.

When I first opened the reviewer’s box, I was totally impressed with the colour and the design of the Surface laptop. It looks a lot like Apple Macbook Air, well I know that’s a daring comparison to make, but I actually think so. The Surface comes in Platinum colour option and I totally love it.

It looks sleek and stylish at the same time. The metallic finish adds to the overall aesthetics and makes the laptop look much better for its price tag. The metallic finish also makes the laptop feel sturdy. Overall, if you, like me, want your work laptop to be sleek and not too much on the face, you’re going to love the design of the new Surface. Well, if you are someone like my colleague who likes RGB lights on his laptop, of course he’s a gamer, then you may not like this one that much. For most people, the Surface is going to be a good deal to consider when it comes to design.

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go screen

The Surface Laptop Go is extremely compact and can be easily carried wherever you go. In fact, it is so light that I could carry the device in my handbag, yes not even a backpack, a proper handbag. In fact, given my office has already resumed I often need to move from my desk to meeting rooms, must say it is a breeze to move around with the Microsoft Surface Laptop Go.

I mostly used the laptop to write, of course, because that’s my primary job responsibility. The keypad has the keys well spaced out and that made my job much easier. In fact, in between the review period, I did move to my office Dell Latitude 3310 laptop, and trust me when I say this, I was craving to get back to the Surface. This is mainly because of how comfortable it is to type on the Microsoft Surface Laptop Go. Despite the keypad in grey colour, the keys are properly visible and that’s a very important aspect of a laptop. The touchpad is also positioned well but registers a lot of fingerprints. So, you will often need to wipe the laptop.

There’s a fingerprint sensor embedded inside of the power button and it worked very well for me. However, of course, don’t expect the laptop to unlock with greasy fingers.

Another good thing about the Surface Laptop Go is its weight. The device weighs 1,110g to be specific. As I mentioned before, it’s very easy to carry the Surface from one place to another. It was also extremely easy to set up the Laptop Go.

The display is another area where this Microsoft Surface shines. The 12.4-inch screen is just about perfect for my requirements, it’s not too big or not very small. I really like the slim bezels, which enhances the overall viewing experience. I watched several movies on Amazon Prime Video, India vs England test match on Disney+ Hotstar, and in all scenarios, the screen looks stunning. Around 50 percent brightness level worked best for me.

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go availability

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go: What’s bad?

To get it straight, one area that I feel could have been better is the battery. Like I said before, I used the Surface as my primary laptop for the last two to three weeks. The laptop lasted for close to 6 hours on a single charge unlike what Microsoft claims. The company claims that the Surface Laptop Go last for close to 13 hours on a single charge. While the device doesn’t offer as much power as promised I must mention that it charges faster than expected. To be specific, the laptop could fully charge from 0 to 100 percent in just an hour, which is a great deal.

While the Surface worked pretty smoothly all through the review period there were times that the screen froze for a few minutes. In these times I mostly had to shut the device, thankfully my work was auto-saved, because none of the keys or anything worked. The screen just froze and how. Given the price tag, it was disappointing to see this. Besides this, the overall performance of the Microsoft Surface Laptop Go is satisfactory, in my opinion.

While the screen of the Surface looks stunning, I have one issue here. In my opinion, the touchscreen of the Surface Laptop Go isn’t as smooth as it should be.

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go price

Should you buy the Microsoft Surface Laptop Go?

I’m using the i5/8/256GB configuration that comes with a price tag of Rs 91,999 in India. In my opinion, the new Microsoft Surface Laptop Go is a good option to consider at the price tag with few areas that require improvement.

The laptop looks classy with a stunning display and sleek design. However, I wish the touchscreen was equally smooth. As far as the performance is concerned, the Surface Laptop Go offers great overall performance and can handle my day-to-day task with ease. But the screen freezing issue is something that the company should take it seriously and probably fix the problem via a software update in the days to come. I didn’t play games on this one because it is not meant for gamers out there.

If you are a writer, this one is a breeze to use. The keypad, fingerprint embedded inside of the power button, and the touchpad – all three turn out to be smooth to work on. For the price, I surely wished that the battery lasted for a few more hours but was left disappointed in this area.

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go features

Microsoft Surface Laptop Go verdict

Pros

Classy design
Lightweight
Stunning screen
Great speakers

Cons

Battery could have been better
Freezes sometimes
Touchscreen not very smooth

For the latest tech news across the world, latest PC and Mobile games, tips & tricks, top-notch gadget reviews of most exciting releases follow BGR India’s Facebook, Twitter, subscribe our YouTube Channel.
  • Published Date: February 16, 2021 12:26 PM IST
  • Updated Date: February 16, 2021 12:27 PM IST



new arrivals in india

Samsung Galaxy F02s
Samsung Galaxy F02s

8,999

Samsung Galaxy F12
Samsung Galaxy F12

10,999

POCO X3 Pro
POCO X3 Pro

18,999

Realme 8 Pro
Realme 8 Pro

17,999

Realme 8
Realme 8

14,999

Vivo X60 Pro Plus
Vivo X60 Pro Plus

69,990

Vivo X60 Pro
Vivo X60 Pro

49,990

Vivo X60
Vivo X60

37,990

OnePlus 9 Pro 5G
OnePlus 9 Pro 5G

64,999

OnePlus 9R 5G
OnePlus 9R 5G

39,999

OnePlus 9 5G
OnePlus 9 5G

49,999

Samsung Galaxy A72
Samsung Galaxy A72

34,999

Samsung Galaxy A52
Samsung Galaxy A52

26,499

Micromax In 1
Micromax In 1

10,499

Asus ROG Phone 5
Asus ROG Phone 5

49,999

Samsung Galaxy M12
Samsung Galaxy M12

10,999

Motorola Moto G30
Motorola Moto G30

10,999

Motorola Moto G10 Power
Motorola Moto G10 Power

9,999

Oppo F19 Pro Plus 5G
Oppo F19 Pro Plus 5G

25,990

Oppo F19 Pro
Oppo F19 Pro

21,490

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro Max
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro Max

18,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10 Pro

15,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 10
Xiaomi Redmi Note 10

11,999

Realme Narzo 30A
Realme Narzo 30A

8,999

Realme Narzo 30 Pro
Realme Narzo 30 Pro

16,999

Infinix Smart 5
Infinix Smart 5

7,199

Samsung Galaxy F62
Samsung Galaxy F62

23,999

Samsung Galaxy A12
Samsung Galaxy A12

12,999

Nokia 5.4
Nokia 5.4

13,999

Nokia 3.4
Nokia 3.4

11,999

Realme X7 Pro 5G
Realme X7 Pro 5G

29,999

Realme X7
Realme X7

19,999

Vivo Y31
Vivo Y31

16,490

Oppo Reno5 Pro 5G
Oppo Reno5 Pro 5G

35,990

Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra 5G

1,05,999

Samsung Galaxy S21 Plus 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 Plus 5G

81,999

Samsung Galaxy S21 5G
Samsung Galaxy S21 5G

69,999

Vivo Y12s
Vivo Y12s

9,990

Vivo Y51A
Vivo Y51A

17,990

Samsung Galaxy M02s
Samsung Galaxy M02s

8,999

Xiaomi Mi 10i
Xiaomi Mi 10i

21,999

Oppo A15s
Oppo A15s

11,490

Tecno Spark 6 Go
Tecno Spark 6 Go

8,499

Vivo V20 2021
Vivo V20 2021

24,990

Vivo Y20A
Vivo Y20A

11,490

Xiaomi Redmi 9 Power
Xiaomi Redmi 9 Power

11,999

Motorola Moto G9 Power
Motorola Moto G9 Power

11,999

Motorola Moto G 5G
Motorola Moto G 5G

20,999

Vivo V20 Pro
Vivo V20 Pro

29,990

Xiaomi Mi 10T
Xiaomi Mi 10T

35,999

Xiaomi Redmi 9i
Xiaomi Redmi 9i

8,299

Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro
Xiaomi Mi 10T Pro

39,999

Infinix Hot 10
Infinix Hot 10

9,999

Vivo V20 SE
Vivo V20 SE

20,990

Vivo V20
Vivo V20

24,990

Micromax In 1b
Micromax In 1b

6,999

Micromax In Note 1
Micromax In Note 1

10,999

OnePlus 8T
OnePlus 8T

42,999

Samsung Galaxy F41
Samsung Galaxy F41

15,499

Apple iPhone 12 Pro Max
Apple iPhone 12 Pro Max

1,29,900

Apple iPhone 12 Pro
Apple iPhone 12 Pro

1,19,900

Apple iPhone 12 Mini
Apple iPhone 12 Mini

69,900

Apple iPhone 12
Apple iPhone 12

79,900

Poco X3
Poco X3

16,999

Realme Narzo 20A
Realme Narzo 20A

8,499

Realme Narzo 20
Realme Narzo 20

10,499

Realme Narzo 20 Pro
Realme Narzo 20 Pro

13,999

Oppo F17
Oppo F17

16,990

Samsung Galaxy M51
Samsung Galaxy M51

22,999

Poco M2
Poco M2

10,999

Oppo F17 Pro
Oppo F17 Pro

22,990

Realme 7 Pro
Realme 7 Pro

19,999

Realme 7
Realme 7

14,999

Xiaomi Redmi 9A
Xiaomi Redmi 9A

6,799

Vivo Y20
Vivo Y20

12,990

Xiaomi Redmi 9
Xiaomi Redmi 9

8,999

Nokia 5.3
Nokia 5.3

13,999

Motorola Moto G9
Motorola Moto G9

11,499

Realme C15
Realme C15

9,999

Realme C12
Realme C12

8,999

Samsung Galaxy Note 20
Samsung Galaxy Note 20

77,999

Xiaomi Redmi 9 Prime
Xiaomi Redmi 9 Prime

9,999

Oppo Reno4 Pro
Oppo Reno4 Pro

34,990

Samsung Galaxy M01 Core
Samsung Galaxy M01 Core

5,499

Realme 6i
Realme 6i

12,999

Asus Rog Phone 3
Asus Rog Phone 3

46,999

OnePlus Nord
OnePlus Nord

24,999

Infinix Smart 4 Plus
Infinix Smart 4 Plus

7,999

Xiaomi Redmi Note 9
Xiaomi Redmi Note 9

10,999

Samsung Galaxy M01s
Samsung Galaxy M01s

9,999

Vivo X50 Pro 5G
Vivo X50 Pro 5G

49,990

Vivo X50 5G
Vivo X50 5G

34,990

Realme C11
Realme C11

7,499

Poco M2 Pro
Poco M2 Pro

13,999

Realme X3
Realme X3

24,999

Realme X3 SuperZoom
Realme X3 SuperZoom

27,999

Tecno Spark Power 2
Tecno Spark Power 2

9,999

Oppo A12
Oppo A12

9,990

Oppo A52
Oppo A52

16,990

Samsung Galaxy A21s
Samsung Galaxy A21s

15,999

Best Sellers